Chair holder - Prof. Dr. Gunther Friedl

Office hours: by appointment
Room: 2409
EMail office: office.controlling@wi.tum.de
Telephone: +49 (0) 89 289-25800
Telefax: +49 (0) 89 289-25802


Gunther Friedl is professor of Business Administration and Management Accounting, head of the department of Management Accounting and dean of TUM School of Management. He conducts research in corporate governance and executive board compensation, performance measurement and business valuation.

After completing first degrees in physics at TUM and business administration at LMU Munich, he received his Ph.D. in 2000 and acquired his postdoctoral teaching qualification (habilitation) in 2004 at the Institute of Production Management and Controlling at LMU. Between 2004 and 2007 he held a position as professor of Business Administration and Management Accounting at the chair of Management Accounting at Johannes-Gutenberg University, Mainz. His research and teaching took him to Stanford University and Warsaw School of Economics.

Gunther Friedl is author and co-author of several books on cost accounting and controlling. His research is published e.g. in the European Journal of Operational Research, OR Spectrum, Research Policy and Schmalenbach Business Review.

He received numerous awards for his work, among them the price of the Association of University Teachers of Economics for the best coursebook and several Best Teaching Awards. His research studies about executive board compensation are regularly presented in Handelsblatt, Financial Times, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, The Huffington Post, ARD and ZDF.

Lehrstuhlinhaber - Prof. Dr. Gunther Friedl

Prof. Dr. Gunther Friedl

Sprechstunde: nach Vereinbarung
Raum: 2409
eMail Sekretariat: ursula.steffl@tum.de
Telefon: +49 (0) 89 289-25800
Telefax: +49 (0) 89 289-25802

Gunther Friedl ist Professor für Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Controlling sowie Dekan an der TUM School of Management der Technischen Universität München. Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen in den Bereichen Corporate Governance und Vorstandsvergütung, Performancemessung und Unternehmensbewertung.  

Er studierte an der TU München Physik und an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Dort promovierte er im Jahr 2000 und habilitierte sich im Jahr 2004. Anschließend war er bis 2007 Professor für Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Controlling an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz. Forschungs- und Lehraufenthalte führten ihn an die Stanford University und an die Warsaw School of Economics.  

Gunther Friedl ist Autor und Koautor von mehreren Büchern zur Kostenrechnung und zum Controlling. Seine Forschungsarbeiten erschienen u.a. im European Journal of Operational Research, OR Spectrum, Research Policy und Schmalenbach Business Review.  

Für seine Arbeiten wurden ihm zahlreiche Preise verliehen, darunter der Preis des Verbands der Hochschullehrer für Betriebswirtschaftslehre für das beste Lehrbuch und eine Reihe von Best Teaching Awards. Seine Studien zur Vorstandsvergütung werden regelmäßig in Handelsblatt, Financial Times, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, The Huffington Post, ARD und ZDF porträtiert.